alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

From Making Home May 16, 2009

Filed under: Health,Quotes,Uncategorized — alwayswithme @ 7:30 pm
Tags: , , ,
  • QUICKLY DEAL WITH THE SIN YOU SEE IN YOUR LIFE – Jay Adams offers sage wisdom about not harboring sin in your heart. Sadly, I have seen the effects of what happens when I as a believer allow sin to creep in and claim and control portions of my life… particularly in my thoughts.
  • Reading Psalm 51 is always one of the first places I go when I need to confess sin– ESPECIALLY when I don’t feel like it, when I’d rather just maintain the status-quo. “Have mercy”… “wash me thoroughly”… “against You have I sinned”… “purge me”… “blot out”… “create”, “renew”, “restore”, “uphold”, “deliver”. I love Psalm 51’s honesty about sin and its target of renewal and restoration… as the living and active Word of God, when I read it and use it as a prayer to the LORD, it somehow works in me to bring about a right attitude even when I start out with a rebellious, self-focused desire to stay the same.
  • PRESCRIPTION FOR CONTENTMENT: “*Never allow yourself to complain about anything – not even the weather. *Never picture yourself in any other circumstances or someplace else. *Never compare your lot with another’s. *Never allow yourself to wish this or that had been otherwise. *Never dwell on tomorrow – remember that [tomorrow] is God’s, not ours.” Good advice. And it’s now up on my fridge, cause I need to read it again and again. 🙂
  • See post hereThis was a great post for me to read.  I am always seeking balance in my life and reading about contentment is a good piece to add to my teeter totter.

     

    Leave a Reply

    