alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

Insulin Resistant May 14, 2009

Filed under: Explanations,Health — alwayswithme @ 7:58 pm
Tags: , ,

I found out a few weeks ago that I am definitely insulin resistant.  My doctor has scheduled me for a class in June to learn some about it.  I went to the bookstore and found a book by Cherye R. Hart, M.D. and Mary Kay Grossman, R.D. called The Insulin-Resistance Diet.  I have skimmed it once an have read about half of it.  I marked some pages that contained information that I felt was important for me to remember.  What follows is what that information is:

High insulin levels mean more body fat, while low insul levels mean less body fat.

People have different baseline levels of insulin because of individual genetice makeup.  The more overweight you are, the more resistant to insulin you tend to become. 

Information from page 7 of the book about Hypoglycemia explains to me that I have been tending to insulin resistance my whole life.  I used to feel this way way back when I was a thin teenager with a great figure.  That was before I started drinking Diet Coke/Pepsi/Rite but that is further down the line in this synopsis.

Factors that make Insulin Resistance worse include some high BP meds, synthetic progesterone only birth control pills and implants (I was on the pill or had Norplant for HOW MANY years?!) 

Glucosamine supplements which are recommended to help with arthritis can affect insulin resistance because it is a type of sugar. 

Caffeine, artificial sweetners and nicotine can increase insulin.  With the sweetners it “sends a confusing signal to the body” causing insulin levels to increase resulting in low blood sugar levels and hunger if not used with food (and I’m sure it means properly balanced food).

 

One Response to “Insulin Resistant”

  1. I too have had a lot of issues with insulin resistance. I recently cut out processed foods that mess with insulting levels and it’s been nothing short of life changing! I wrote about it here if you have any interest:
    http://www.conversiondiary.com/2009/03/gluttony-addiction-and-not-listening-in.html

    God bless!


Leave a Reply

