alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

If I Were To Homeschool My Son April 18, 2009

Filed under: Catholic,DS, The Younger,Family,Organization — alwayswithme @ 2:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

My youngest has shown some apprehension about middle school, which is normal, I know.  I have apprehension about middle school too; having had three boys already go through it.  I did not enjoy the experience.  We live in a good school district so it is not the education; it is the social crap.  DS is a sweet, sensitive, shy boy.  He isn’t the most popular, doesn’t have a lot of friends, is intelligent, has ADHD, is afraid of flying insects, is wise, isn’t team sports inclined and I just love him to pieces.  Part of me thinks that life is hard enough, why put him through middle school.  Anyway, I have looked at homeschooling before in a general way as I find the whole thing fascinating.  This year, however, I am going to investigate it further.  I plan to attend our areas Catholic Homeschool Conference in June.  In looking at different methods of educating a person I believe that I prefer the unit study method.  I plan to start accumulating that type of information in the event we decide to go that route. 

There.  I made is public.

 

One Response to “If I Were To Homeschool My Son”

  1. katie Says:

    yea homeschooling! did you keep him home this year? (i’m reading this entry a little late, i know.)
    the “social crap” is one of the MAIN reasons i KEEP homeschooling my 3! i would never want them to have to fight the crowds of social crap i endured in jr high and high school. honestly, i can’t tell you which one was worse. they were both terrible. i was mediocre and young for my grade and tho i survived: AWFUL. my brother was very athletic but i think not super mature for his grade: wow he got beat down: awful! My sister, brainiac…loved high school. i don’t know how she did it. but still, i’d never send my kids as long as i can help it.

    God bless on your journey. i’d love to hear what you decided!!!


Leave a Reply

