alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

The Cross April 11, 2009

Filed under: Blog Parties,Catholic — alwayswithme @ 8:29 pm
Tags:

My sister sent me a Happy Easter message that gave the details of Christ’s death on the cross.  It revealed just how awful that death was.  My sister is Protestant and I am Catholic, having converted on Holy Saturday, 2001.

  In the Catholic church there is a cross in the sanctuary.  It is the cross with the crucified Jesus on it.  In the Protestant church, the cross in the sanctuary is the empty cross. Praise be.

When I first became a Catholic I wondered why I had to be faced with that grusome scene of Christ crucified.  As time went on I realized how much more real the entire life and death of Christ was because of that occupied Cross.  There is no denying just what he did for you and for me.  I am grateful now that I get to see it every time I go to church and I know I am much more appreciative of him because  of it.

Wherever you celebrate the glory of the risen Lord, I wish you peace on this day.  Spiritual Sundays is hosted here.

 

10 Responses to “The Cross”

  1. Willnette Says:

    I too look to the empty cross most of the time, but have some very lovely candle holders with Jesus on the cross. either way I rememer His love for me. thank you for sharing have a Wonderful and rejoicing Resurrection Sunday

  2. Sue Says:

    I am so thankful for the cross,and what it symbolizes for me!! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the cross,wishing you and your family a most blessed and joyous Happy Resurrection Sunday.
    Sue

  3. Charlotte Says:

    I knew Catholic churches had crucifixes with Jesus on the cross but I had never heard it explained this way. Thank you for sharing with us.
    Have a blessed Easter.
    Charlotte

  4. Clif Says:

    Thank you for wonderful words concerning our crucified and risen Lord. I am always encouraged each time I meet or know of somebody else that shares the faith. We are not alone. All over the world there are those who love and worship Christ.

  5. Sheila Says:

    I have both in my home, just as I have friends who are both Protestant and Catholics. Both are meaningful to me for different reasons. But He is meaningful to me in all seasons for all reasons and particularly because of what He did for us on that old rugged cross!

    Happy Easter and much love…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  6. Kathy Says:

    A beautiful post!
    Happy Easter…Kathy

  7. sally Says:

    The important thing is what He did while on that cross–took my sins! Thanks for sharing. Happy Spiritual Sunday. I wish you a Blessed Easter as you celebrate our risen Lord.

  8. I chose to never adorn myself with the cross as it is to precious. Every time I look at a cross I am reminded that we will never be loved more. Happy Easter to you. Be blessed!

  9. Ginger Says:

    Thank-you for sharing this, I learned something new.
    God Bless,
    Ginger

  10. Sandi Says:

    Thank you for sharing this. Happy Easter!

    Blessings,
    Sandi


Leave a Reply

