alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

January 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — alwayswithme @ 10:10 am
Tags:

Ann Kroeker got this from a devotional at this site:  http://www.rbc.org/devotionals/my-utmost-for-his-highest/01/23/devotion.aspx?year=2009

So many good things tempt us to turn away from beholding God and being changed into His likeness. What can we do?  

The most important rule for us is to concentrate on keeping our lives open to God. Let everything else including work, clothes, and food be set aside. The busyness of things obscures our concentration on God.

Chambers advises that we let work, clothes and food be set aside if it threatens our focus on God. The list could go on to include writing, TV, Twitter, shopping, reading, clubs, blogging, kids’ activities…it’s so easy to let busyness of all kinds obscure my concentration on God. 

If some activity threatens my focus on the Lord, I need to seriously evaluate its place in my life. I need to keep myself open to Him. If something disrupts that, I need to examine the trouble-spot.

Never let a hurried lifestyle disturb the relationship of abiding in Him. This is an easy thing to allow, but we must guard against it. The most difficult lesson of the Christian life is learning how to continue “beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord . . . .”

Did you catch that warning? Never let a hurried lifestyle disturb the relationship of abiding in Him. I have seen it happen in my life–busyness distracts me from the Lord, and I must guard against it.

I’m going too fast if my relationship with the Lord is off-kilter and deteriorating.

As I am trying to get my life straightened out, I acknowledge that my time spent with God is minimal at best right now.  The above entry from Ann Kroeker.wordpress.com really, really speaks to me and I thank her for posting it and for the Lord calling her to do so.

 

Leave a Reply

