alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

What the Election Means to Me January 24, 2009

Filed under: Catholic — alwayswithme @ 12:11 pm
Tags: ,

I think this will probably be an ongoing post as more things are revealed to me.  Suffice it to say that I am saddened first by the two poor choices we had for election to the office of President of the United States.  The worst of the two was elected, in my opinion.  I am a pro-life Catholic woman.  I believe in treating all people in a respectful way.  I believe in compassion for those who have to live with disabilities or  in ways that are out of the norm of traditional society.  I do not believe there is anything wrong with traditional society.  I believe believers should attend church on a weekly basis, if not more frequently.  I believe that we should witness to those who are not believers in a loving way.  I believe that marriage should be between one man and one woman.  I understand that there are those who disagree with me but I also believe that they should respect my right to believe as I do, just as I believe they have a right to believe as they do.  I also believe it is my duty to pray for God’s blessings upon them as I would hope they would pray for God’s blessings upon me.  I struggle with how President Obama can say we can kill babies in the womb but can consider freeing men caught on battlefields trying to kill our soldiers.  I struggle with the fact that President Obama doesn’t want us to be involved in the war on terror which is currently being fought in other countries; but feels free to be involved in the extermination of babies in the wombs of women living  in other countries.  I found this link on another website and am linking to it here because it gave me a bit of hope.  Peace be with us all.  http://www.hli.org/sl_2009-01-23.html

 

Leave a Reply

