alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

A Book Meme!!! November 7, 2008

Filed under: Books — alwayswithme @ 7:44 pm
Tags:

I found this book meme here at Hello My Name is Alice

Do you remember how you developed a love for reading?

Yes, my mother was an avid reader and although I don’t remember her reading to me, she did take me to the library regularly.  We had a good children’s library for a small town.  Every summer I would be in the summer reading program and I always read a lot of books.

I remember when I graduated to the big folks library, I loved mysteries and at first thought I would start at A and read all the way through Z, however I soon discovered not every book is a good book.  I then found the Perry Mason series and I was off. 

I also loved, loved, loved the old card catalogs.

What are some books you read as a child?

All the Nancy Drew books, Mystery of the Green Ghost. 

What is your favorite genre?

Most fiction

Do you have a favorite novel?

Oh my, just one?  No way.

Where do you usually read?

Any place I am sitting.  Reading material is always with me.

When do you usually read?

Whenever I sit down it seems, whenever I’m waiting.

Do you read nonfiction in a different way or place than you read fiction?

Not really.

Do you buy most of the books you read, or borrow them, or check them out of the library?

I mostly buy my books.  I try to find them at the Half Price Bookstore, I buy mainly hardbound books.  If I don’t love the book I sell it back.  If I can only find it in paperback, I’ll buy it read it and if I love it I’ll keep searching for the hardbound copies.

I have all of my old Nancy Drew books – I am 50 years old and have sons not daughters to pass them on too.  I hope for granddaughters.

I also use Borders coupons to buy books.

Do you keep most of the books you buy?

Only the ones I love (and I love alot of books). 

If you have children, what are some of the favorite books you have shared with them?

Magic Treehouse, The Little Critter books, The Giving Tree

What are you reading now?

Split Second by David Balduci

Do you keep a TBR (to be read) list?

Not really, my next bookclub book is always a next but I have many purchased books I haven’t read yet and I am whittling through them because I am getting some new bookshelves and I want them to look great with only books I love on them except for a few TBR on one shelf

What’s next?

A Death in Vienna by Daniel Silva

What books would you like to reread?

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamont, Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd are a couple.

Who are your favorite authors?

Phillippa Gregory, P.D. James, Agatha Christie, and so many others

 

Leave a Reply

