alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

A Fun Meme September 1, 2008

Filed under: DS, The Older,DS, The Younger,Family — alwayswithme @ 12:24 am
Tags:

The Other Kind of Labor

How long were your labors?

Kid #1: 5 days –

 Had been having labor pains for months (it’s normal, says the doctor, perhaps say I).  Woke up on September 15th,  1994 planning to get ready to be a bridesmaid at a friends wedding instead wound up in hospital on meds trying to stop deliver at 32 weeks.  Once I had progressed too far they took me off meds and within 20 minutes there he was all 5 pounds 3 ounces of him.

Kid #2: 5 minutes

Water broke at back to school night at above child’s middle school (I know, how embarrassing – for my middler schooler – not me)  I had been having labor pains for months (see above).  I figured I had time to go home and sign some of the paperwork we accumulated at back to school night.  About an hour later we headed to the hospital still having the labor pains I had been having for months.  Checked in, nurse checked me out.  Not near ready.  Nurse said since it was close to shift change she would have next nurse finish me up.  Next nurse came in and ran the IV, etc.  I asked if I could go to the bathroom after she was done.  She said yes after she checked me.  She checked me, her eyes got real big, said breathe don’t push and ran out of the room, ran back in room with other nurses and some guy, DH turned on the music I wanted to listen to while in labor (Christifori’s Dream) and that moment I had one HUGE transition contraction where I screamed like I was dying.  The guy introduced himself as a doctor, the nurse said my doctor was brushing her teeth at home because nurse one said I had a ways to go, the guy (a doctor) was pulled from the elevator to deliver my baby and so it was done.  Much better this way than the first way I must say.  This one was 5 pounds 10 ounces.  I’m a lucky woman.

How did you know you were in labor?

Kid #1: felt like any other day, been laboring for months, this time had bloody show though.
Kid #2: felt like any other day, been laboring for months, was within 2 weeks of due date and my water broke.

Where did you deliver?

Hospital

.

Who delivered?

Baby 1 – Doctor on duty at teaching hospital I had been transferred to (by ambulance – don’t suggest this as is most uncomfortable) also in same bed I had been laboring in for 3 of the 5 days.  Very hard bed.  You think they could have made me more comfortable.  Got comfortable bed afterwards thank God.

Baby 2 – Doctor yanked off elevator at local hospital for second one.  My real doctor (the doctor that everyone wants to deliver their baby was still at home brushing her teeth).  She arrived afterwards and was really nice.

 

EXTRA NEEDLESS BUT INTERESTING INFORMATION, I WAS ACTUALLY BORN ON LABOR DAY.  I ALWAYS THOUGHT THAT WAS RATHER FUNNY AND MY BIRTHDAY THIS YEAR WAS ON LABOR DAY AGAIN.  I COST MY FOLKS $21.23 – I HAVE THE CANCELLED CHECK TO PROVE IT.

If you do this meme on your blog, let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

