alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

My First Novena July 7, 2008

Filed under: Family — alwayswithme @ 6:44 pm
Tags: ,

We had friends visit for a few days the first part of the month.  It was great to see them; they will be moving back here next June.  After they left, DH told me he had been contacted about a possible job in Cedar Rapids.  It has taken me until today to come to peace with that possibility.  I thought the job situation was resolved and had already settled in.  Since I’ve been busy with the friends, then the fourth coupled with all my wasted time worries I hadn’t checked my e-mail for my saints studies, etc.  Today I read an entry from July 2nd that proposed a Novena to St. Benedict for Pope Benedict.  How oddly interesting.  When I needed something to cling to; something to change my focus from worry to peaceful acceptance there was an opportunity just waiting for me. 

Now, I’ve never done a Novena but as I understand it I am to pray the same prayer daily until the 11th.  There was even the option of “if you missed starting on the 1st, just say it a few additional times until the 11th!”  I can do this.  The prayer makes you insert in your personal intention and at first I selfishly thought of my weight problem but soon God whispered to me “Julie, it’s about the job, your husband and peaceful acceptance of my will”.  Got it.  So here it goes:

Dear Glorious Saint Benedict, sublime model of virture, pure vessel of God’s grace

I implore you in your loving kindness to pray for me before the throne of God.  To you I

have recourse in the dangers that daily surround me.  Shield me against my selfishness

and my indifference to God and to my neighbor.  May your blessing be with me always, so that

I may see and serve Christ in others and work for His Kingdom.  Graciously obtain for me from

God those favors and graces which I need so much in the trials, miseries and afflictions

of life.  Your heart was always full of love, compassion and mercy toward

those who were afflicted or trouble in any way.  You never dismissed without

consolation and assistance anyone who had recourse to you.  I therefore invoke your powerful

intercessions, confident in the hope that you will hear my prayers and obtain for me the

special grace and favors I earnestly implore.  For the successful reign of Pope Benedict may he

lead the people of the United States to you and for the quick, happy and peaceful resolution of Greg’s job

search.  Help me, oh great Saint Benedict, to live and die as a faithful child of God, to run

in the sweetness of His loving will, and to attain the eternal happiness

of heaven.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

