alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

Tyler’s Wedding May 22, 2008

Filed under: Family — alwayswithme @ 9:54 pm

Tyler gets married on Sunday.  His mom just called me to tell me the song she picked for her dance with him.  It is Gladys Knights “You’re the Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me”.  I know I’m going to cry.  I don’t know how she is going to get through it.  I hope she does because she wants to be dignified.  Gotta pray, gotta pray alot about this.

She decided she couldn’t dance to that song so she chose Louie Armstrong’s “What a Wonderful World”

So the wedding was on May 25th.  It was wonderful.  It was very  much a “them” wedding.  He walked in to a drum solo (he plays the drums), she was radiantly beautiful in the prettiest gown I’ve ever seen, I will always appreciate her mother holding my sister’s hand as they walked up to place the sand on the altar, they did a combining of sand as a symbol of their combined lives which will be something they can keep forever.  I’ll never forget the look on her face as she saw the wedding ring for the first time; to say she was blown away would be an understatement.  I was so happy for Tyler.  I have never seen a more excited groom.  The pastor did a beautiful job explaining the marriage covenant–very Catholic for me which was nice.  Before the pastor let the wedding begin he had Tyler declare to us all that he was accepting responsibility for the care and keeping of his bride.  The bride and groom wrote their own vows which were deeply personal.  I want my sons to have their brides look at them like she looks at Tyler.  I could go on and on and will probably add to this entry.  It was a beautiful, Godly evening.

They are supposed to be back tonight but they chose to vacation on the eastern sie of Mexico – Hurricane Arthur area.  All we know is the plane is delayed (no kidding).  Praying for Pam and them.

 

Leave a Reply

