alwayswithme, a Weblog

where I keep my thoughts together

The Introvert Advantage May 15, 2008

Filed under: Books — alwayswithme @ 11:11 pm
Tags:

I was reading a fellow blogger’s blog entry that I had bookmarked for some reason yesterday.  In it towards the end she mentioned that she is an introvert.  I love the way God pops in and connects people.  I am an introvert.  I am almost 50 and it has taken me 40 years to finally be able to embrace being an introvert. God made me and God makes nothing that is not special and better than okay.

I have a niece who is struggling right now with this very issue.  She feels she doesn’t fit in, that she isn’t good enough, nobody likes her etc.  I will be seeing her over the Memorial Day weekend and will be handing her this book and letting her know that I wished I had had this available to me when I was 17 and not now at 49.  The name of the book is The Introvert Advantage, How to Thrive in an Extrovert World by Marti Olsen Laney, Psy.D.  If you are an introvert, love an introvert or are just curious about introverts.  Read this book.  It was published in 2002 so it should be available in libraries.

 

2 Responses to “The Introvert Advantage”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Thanks for the comments. I’ll be looking for this book! It’s funny, I can write a blog and share pretty intimate details of my life, but I have to psych myself up to make a phone call. I guess with a blog you have more control over it. I’m glad to know I’m not the only introvert out there! Sometimes it feels like it.

  2. alwayswithme Says:

    I completely understand. This is much more comfortable for me too. It even takes guts to respond to entries that I enjoy but I’m getting better at it.


Leave a Reply

